Final Project Proposal (Jacqueline Amjadi)

Because of my father’s origin, I am always inclined to speak on the status of women in Iran. But – I have never traveled there, so I feel I can’t really relate first hand to the daily struggles.

I have one close relative on my father’s side that is representative of a certain demographic in Iran – my Aunt Rosa, who is middle aged and mentally disabled. My Aunt Rosa is mentally challenged due to domestic abuse while her mother was pregnant (more specifically for being pregnant with a girl). I would like to present her story through a painting and slideshow format.

I feel this can be opened up to relate to both:

1) The favoring of boys over girls (in Iran)

2) (Lack of) Disability in the media

In addition, by doing this I am putting a woman into media – giving her a place where she wouldn’t normally be represented.

Starting Sources:

Leave a Reply

