I AM (Donka N)

Telling other people who they are is a common occurrence in every day life. Bosses tell us whether we are good or bad employees, teachers tell us whether or not they think we have potential, society tells us that as women we must be  beautiful, successful, and kind. I believe knowing who you are requires a certain type of awareness. Being able to separate yourself from what other people tell you and who you know yourself to be can be difficult at times. I am trying to develop this awareness.

I generally don’t like it when people tell me who they think I am. I think it is more important to ask ourselves, “who do we want to be?” and modify our behavior to pursue our potential, rather than stay in fixed state of “this is who I am and who I will always be.” I want to be an adventurous, independent, confident young woman who experiences life to the fullest and is able to express herself clearly through writing. As a consumer of media, I love to watch films, listen to music and use the internet.

In general, I watch documentaries through Netflix and when I am able to, I watch films screened here at Hunter. In fact, I have watched “Bag it: Is Your Life Too Plastic?,”one of my favorite films, at an event hosted by the Film and Media Department. I also like action films, such as “The Matrix” and visually stimulating surreal films with complex story lines, such as “Inception.”

I enjoy to listening to music. Some of my favorite artists are Beck, Tycho, and Aphex Twin; it is through Pandora that I find some of my favorite artists. During the semester, I tend to listen to more music, since music is more accessible and I spend most of my time in school or work; I do not like to watch television programs in school or on my phone.  However, this semester I have noticed that I have begun to listen to music less, and listening to music has been replaced with reading a fiction book on the subway. I can’t stand silence or not having some type of stimulation on my way to school, I think this is because I got used to handling a smart phone.

I tend to use the Internet often, Googling questions that I hope to find the answers to and reading blogs. It seems that some people often feel more comfortable exposing their lives and thoughts through the Internet and their blogs read like dairy entries. I find it interesting to read other people’s comments, blog posts, or blurbs in public forums since it often reminds me that I am not alone in the challenges that I face as an individual or young adult.

Through this course I hope to gain a greater understanding of how women are represented in media and how the messages sent by media influence our daily interactions with each other as well as how we see ourselves in relation to these images. I am fascinated by the images in the media because I often find that media representations often communicate to us who we should be and how we should act. I see the feminist movement as a fight against stereotypes that can limit an individual’s ability to become who they want to become rather than what society says they should be, or thinks they should be. We should never allow others to define who we are; instead we should strive to become who we  want to be.

7a68378f93485eb1ac9b9ef3db90e0da

Image from: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/179510735118039834/

Interesting article in the New York Times about New York City Girls Project.

City Unveils a campaign to improve girl’s self esteem

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/10/01/nyregion/city-unveils-a-campaign-to-improve-girls-self-esteem.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

