2/8 ~ Who Do You Think You Are?

Nothing inspires or moves me more than films do. Movies have always been a constant in my life. Even at a very young age, I remember the indescribable connection that would form when I’d watch them and the feeling today is just as strong as when I was a kid. I hope to be able to create my own films, as my interests lie in screenwriting, directing, and producing. The representation of women who hold power in the entertainment business is still scarce. The film industry has consistently been male dominated in the realm of directors and writers, and sexism is still rampant. As someone who aspires to be a part of that league of women in Hollywood who create different forms of media, striving and speaking up for equal representation for females in the industry is what I can hope to achieve for my life. 

I consume media in a constant fashion, which in retrospect calls my attention span into question, as it’s often glued towards my phone screen as I refresh my Twitter or Instagram feed. As a college student who resides in one of the busiest cities in the world, where everything around me is just as fast paced as the wifi speed in the best Starbucks downtown, our media consumption plays a perpetual role in our lives and, in a sense, keeps us in motion. As a Film major with a minor in Media Studies, my consumption of media is unceasing. As I glaringly mentioned in earlier in this post, I am a frequent user of social media networks. I watch so many television shows that it stresses me out trying to keep up with them. Certain forms of media on the Internet also allow me to increase my social awareness; I have various websites I look at daily (such as The New Yorker, Huffington Post, Jezebel, The Hollywood Reporter, Salon, Thought Catalog, etc). 

As a media-maker and consumer, it is important to be aware, not just of what’s going on around me, but how I take in this stream of information. It is without a doubt that news outlets, political journalism websites, opinion pieces, etc. can be misleading. Even in the subtlest of ways, media can be biased, one-sided, untrue, or even racist. Remaining objective is vital. For instance, you should always question. Truth and media aren’t mutually exclusive terms at times if you look at it within a critical lens. Despite such, it is important for us to know how to distinguish the purpose of the media we’re consuming. It is important to be conscious and scope out all sides in our approach. 

This link is about the 2012 Academy Awards and how male nominations dominated the major categories:

http://www.salon.com/2012/02/25/the_oscars_woman_problem/

Image

Leave a Reply

